What’s my Stance as a citizen? (Poem)

I tune into the news

A five year old got raped they said

Oh poor little girl I thought

It happened to a boy they said

Who am I to pity him?

It has happened today and it’ll happen tomorrow again

What can I do? What’s my stance as a citizen?

Saw two parents crying

For a daughter they can’t find

Police say they have been trying

Neighbors have fingers to point

It was in her character, that’s what they are implying

Who am I to pity them?

What’s my stance as a citizen?

I see a 100 may be even more

Youth turning up on the streets

Protesting for their safety and rights to be assured

Their voices when they meet

Feel strong yet premature

No lack of motive but lack of direction

Less are the answers, more are the questions

They’ll scream but not get for what they stand

Sweating in the sun they stay there, tanned

But who am I to pity them?

What’s my stance as a citizen?

Kill for honor, kill for money, kill for power and kill for hate

Abduct, rape, blackmail and humiliate through a video tape

We have no money, no power, nor strength to trade

So we take what you give and be left ashamed

Everyone once has to face their fate

We need to be a Nation not a bunch of States.

Tell me who am I to pity then?

It’s my turn find a stance as a citizen

5 thoughts on “What’s my Stance as a citizen? (Poem)

Leave a Reply

